

# Tab 1 Appointment of PAC Chair an

# Appointment of PAC Chair and Vice Chair Nominating Committee

Coordinating Board for Higher Education June 12, 2024

#### **BACKGROUND**

The Presidential Advisory Committee that meets with the Coordinating Board for Higher Education is established in § 173.005.3, RSMo. The statute provides:

"The coordinating board shall meet at least four times annually with an advisory committee who shall be notified in advance of such meetings. The coordinating board shall have exclusive voting privileges. The advisory committee shall consist of thirty-two members, who shall be the president or other chief administrative officer of the University of Missouri; the chancellor of each campus of the University of Missouri; the president of each state-supported four-year college or university, including Harris-Stowe State University, Missouri Southern State University, Missouri Western State University, and Lincoln University; the president of State Technical College of Missouri; the president or chancellor of each public community college district; and representatives of each of five accredited private institutions selected biennially, under the supervision of the coordinating board, by the presidents of all of the state's privately supported institutions; but always to include at least one representative from one privately supported community college, one privately supported four-year college, and one privately supported university. The conferences shall enable the committee to advise the coordinating board of the views of the institutions on matters within the purview of the coordinating board."

## Recent PAC officers include:

| Year      | Chair                        | Vice Chair                  |
|-----------|------------------------------|-----------------------------|
| 2022-2024 | Dr. Jon Bauer<br>MCCA        | Dr. Kristin Sobolik<br>UMSL |
| 2020-2022 | Dr. Carlos Vargas<br>COPHE   | Dr. Jon Bauer<br>MCCA       |
| 2018-2020 | Dr. Scott Dalrymple ICUM     | Dr. Carlos Vargas<br>COPHE  |
| 2016-2018 | Dr. Ray<br>Cummiskey<br>MCCA | Rose Windmiller<br>ICUM     |
| 2014-2016 | Dr. Don Claycomb<br>STC      | Dr. John Jasinski<br>COPHE  |

# **CURRENT STATUS**

The PAC bylaws provide that the PAC chair shall appoint a nominating committee composed of the chairs of COPHE, MCCA, ICUM, and the president of the University of Missouri System or the chancellor of one of its campuses within the system at the regular meeting of the PAC immediately before the September meeting, which is the June meeting.

#### **NEXT STEPS**

Once appointed, the nominating committee should nominate a slate of officers to serve as the chair and vice chair for the PAC to vote on at the September CBHE meeting.

# RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommend that the PAC chair Jon Bauer appoint the COPHE chair, ICUM chair, MCCA chair, and the president of the University of Missouri system or the chancellor of one of the campuses to the nominating committee.

#### **NO ATTACHMENTS**