AGENDA ITEM SUMMARY

AGENDA ITEM

Private High Schools Designated as A+ Eligible Coordinating Board for Higher Education April 6, 2017

DESCRIPTION

With the enactment of SB 638 (2016) during the 2016 legislative session, Missouri's non-public high schools became eligible for designation as A+ high schools. This makes students attending those schools potentially eligible for the A+ Scholarship Program. The intent of this agenda item is to provide an update on the designation process and the steps MDHE staff is taking to incorporate students graduating from those schools into the program.

Background

Senate Bill 638 allows nonpublic high schools to submit applications to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education for A+ designation. It also provides that students who graduate from those schools are eligible to receive reimbursement for tuition and required fees at eligible A+ postsecondary institutions as long as they satisfy the student eligibility requirements. Specifically, the following language was added to the A+ authorizing statute (Subsection 160.545.3, RSMo).

Any nonpublic school in this state may apply to the state board of education for certification that it meets the requirements of this section subject to the same criteria as public high schools. Every nonpublic school that applies and has met the requirements of this section shall have its students eligible for reimbursement of postsecondary education under subsection 8 of this section on an equal basis to students who graduate from public schools that meet the requirements of this section.

Implementation

Since the legislation became effective, DESE and MDHE staff have been working to prepare for the change. In fall 2016, DESE established the application process for the nonpublic institutions and provided notification regarding the statutory change and the timeline for designation.

As part of the normal outreach efforts relating to this program, MDHE staff has participated in several workshops and training sessions focused on ensuring nonpublic high schools have information about program participation and student eligibility. These sessions have been held at locations across the state and included participation by a wide variety of nonpublic school representatives.

Current Status

At its March 14, 2017, meeting, the State Board of Education unanimously designated 57 nonpublic high schools as A+ high schools. In response, MDHE staff have reached out to each of the newly designated high schools to provide information about program operations and requirements, to provide a template for the "A+ stamp" used to indicate on a student's transcript

Private High Schools Designated as A+ Eligible April 6, 2017 Page 2

that they have met the eligibility requirements, and to request some information about the school's 2017 graduating class.

Consistent with past policy, 2017 graduates of these schools are considered eligible for the scholarship program since the schools were officially designated prior to graduation, as long as the students meet all of the program requirements. The information we have requested will assist the department in making projections for the 2017-2018 award year relating to both growth in student participation and in the funding requirements for the program.

Conclusion

While funding for the A+ program remains an area of interest and concern, the MDHE continues to work diligently to ensure graduates of the newly designated schools will be able to move seamlessly into the scholarship component of the program. As the A+ programs at these schools become more mature, we expect to see continued growth in the A+ Scholarship program and will need to monitor the financial impact of this change closely.

STATUTORY REFERENCE

Section 160.545, RSMo – A+ Schools Program

RECOMMENDED ACTION

This is an information item only.

ATTACHMENT(S)

Attachment A – Nonpublic schools designated as A+ eligible

Archbishop O'Hara High School

Barat Academy

Bishop Dubourg High School Blue Ridge Christian School Calvary Lutheran High School Cardinal Ritter College Prep

Christian High School Cor Jesu Academy

Cristo Rey Kansas City High School

Crosspoint Christian School Dayspring Christian School De Smet Jesuit High School Duchesne High School El Dorado Christian School

Father Tolton Catholic High School

Gloria Deo Academy Grace Classical Academy Greenwood Laboratory School Heartland Christian School Helias Catholic High School Incarnate Word Academy

Islamic School of Greater Kansas City

John F. Kennedy Catholic High School

Lutheran High School South Lutheran High School North Lutheran High School St. Charles Marshfield Christian School McAuley Catholic High School

Missouri Military Academy

Mountain Grove Christian Academy

Neosho Christian School Nerinx Hall High School

Norte Dame de Sion High School North County Christian School Northland Christian School Notre Dame High School Our Savior Christian Academy

Park Avenue Christian School Rosati-Kain High School Sacred Heart High School Saxony Lutheran High School Springfield Catholic High School

St. Dominic High School

St. Francis Borgia Regional High School

St. John Vianney High School St. Joseph Christian High School

St. Joseph's Academy St. Mary's High School

St. Pius X High School-Kansas City St. Pius X High School-St. Louis

St. Teresa's Academy St. Vincent High School Summit Christian Academy

The Lutheran High School of Kansas City

Trinity Catholic High School Trinity Christian Academy Valle Catholic High School