# Administrative Wage Garnishment

**Employer Handbook** 



January 2021



### Dear Employer,

This page provides a brief summary of the Administrative Wage Garnishment process utilized by the Missouri Department of Higher Education & Workforce Development. The following pages include details and instructions to help you comply with the AWG program. Please read all materials carefully. The Federal Family Education Loan Program is administered by guaranty agencies, such as the MDHEWD, on behalf the U. S. Department of Education. One method by which the MDHEWD collects payment on FFELP loans that default is through AWG, which permits garnishment without a court order. Federal statute 20 USC 1095a overrides state law and authorizes this process. A copy of that federal statute, the implementing regulations [34 CFR 682.410(b) (10)], and a letter from the U.S. Department of Education addressing AWG authorization is attached.

An Order of Withholdings from earnings was sent to you with respect to one or more persons who our records indicate work for you. Before the Order was sent, the employee was notified and given an opportunity to review MDHEWD records relating to the debt, to resolve the debt voluntarily and to have a hearing concerning the debt.

Federal law makes you liable to withhold from your employee's wages once you have received the Order. However, you are not required to vary your normal pay and disbursement cycles. Also, the law prohibits you from discharging, refusing to employ or taking disciplinary action against the employee just because their wages have been subject to the AWG process. Per federal law, garnishment shall not exceed 15 percent of the disposable pay for the pay period, subject to an aggregate maximum of 25% and protected "floor" of 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage per work week (see 15 USC 1673). Missouri law, section 173.115(10) of the Missouri Revised Statutes, further limits garnishments to "ten percent of the borrower's earnings after deductions from those earnings of any amount required by law to be withheld." The Order sent to you requires you to garnish 10 percent of the disposable pay for the pay period. This handbook contains a worksheet and instructions to help you calculate the proper amount. Any lesser amount ordered after an AWG hearing, or any greater amount agreed to by the borrower, is reflected in the Order and should be used instead of using the worksheet.

Use the Employer Acknowledgement form to confirm receipt of the Order promptly after receipt, even if the person no longer works for you. Remember to provide the information requested on the form if you claim that the person no longer works for you.

Thank you for your cooperation. If you have any questions, please call the AWG Department at 1 800 473-6757, option 3, or 573-751-3940.

Sincerely, Marla Rabbson

Marla Robertson

Director for the Missouri Student Loan Program

### §1095a. Wage garnishment requirement

### (a) Garnishment requirements

Notwithstanding any provision of State law, a guaranty agency, or the Secretary in the case of loans made, insured or guaranteed under this subchapter and part C of subchapter I of chapter 34 of title 42 that are held by the Secretary, may garnish the disposable pay of an individual to collect the amount owed by the individual, if he or she is not currently making required repayment under a repayment agreement with the Secretary, or, in the case of a loan guaranteed under part B of this subchapter on which the guaranty agency received reimbursement from the Secretary under section 1078(c) of this title, with the guaranty agency holding the loan, as appropriate, provided that —

- (1) the amount deducted for any pay period may not exceed 15 percent of disposable pay, except that a greater percentage may be deducted with the written consent of the individual involved;
- (2) the individual shall be provided written notice, sent by mail to the individual's last known address, a minimum of 30 days prior to the initiation of proceedings, from the guaranty agency or the Secretary, as appropriate, informing such individual of the nature and amount of the loan obligation to be collected, the intention of the guaranty agency or the Secretary, as appropriate, to initiate proceedings to collect the debt through deductions from pay, and an explanation of the rights of the individual under this section;
  - (3) the individual shall be provided an opportunity to inspect and copy records relating to the debt;
- (4) the individual shall be provided an opportunity to enter into a written agreement with the guaranty agency or the Secretary, under terms agreeable to the Secretary, or the head of the guaranty agency or his designee, as appropriate, to establish a schedule for the repayment of the debt;
- (5) the individual shall be provided an opportunity for a hearing in accordance with subsection (b) of this section on the determination of the Secretary or the guaranty agency, as appropriate, concerning the existence or the amount of the debt, and, in the case of an individual whose repayment schedule is established other than by a written agreement pursuant to paragraph (4), concerning the terms of the repayment schedule;
- (6) the employer shall pay to the Secretary or the guaranty agency as directed in the withholding order issued in this action, and shall be liable for, and the Secretary or the guaranty agency, as appropriate, may sue the employer in a State or Federal court of competent jurisdiction to recover, any amount that such employer fails to withhold from wages due an employee following receipt of such employer of notice of the withholding order, plus attorneys' fees, costs, and, in the court's discretion, punitive damages, but such employer shall not be required to vary the normal pay and disbursement cycles in order to comply with this paragraph;
- (7) if an individual has been reemployed within 12 months after having been involuntarily separated from employment, no amount may be deducted from the disposable pay of such individual until such individual has been reemployed continuously for at least 12 months; and
- (8) an employer may not discharge from employment, refuse to employ, or take disciplinary action against an individual subject to wage withholding in accordance with this section by reason of the fact that the individual's wages have been subject to garnishment under this section, and such individual may sue in a State or Federal court of competent jurisdiction any employer who takes such action. The court shall award attorneys' fees to a prevailing employee and, in its discretion, may order reinstatement of the individual, award punitive damages and back pay to the employee, or order such other remedy as may be reasonably necessary.

### (b) Hearing requirements

A hearing described in subsection (a)(5) of this section shall be provided prior to issuance of a garnishment order if the individual, on or before the 15th day following the mailing of the notice described in subsection (a)(2) of this section, and in accordance with such procedures as the Secretary or the head of the guaranty agency, as appropriate, may prescribe, files a petition requesting such a hearing. If the individual does not file a petition requesting a hearing prior to such date, the Secretary or the guaranty agency, as appropriate, shall provide the individual a hearing under subsection (a)(5) of this section upon request, but such hearing need not be provided prior to issuance of a garnishment order. A hearing under subsection (a)(5) of this section may not be conducted by an individual under the supervision or control of the head of the guaranty agency, except that nothing in this sentence shall be construed to prohibit the appointment of an administrative law judge. The hearing official shall issue a final decision at the earliest practicable date, but not later than 60 days after the filing of the petition requesting the hearing.

### (c) Notice requirements

The notice to the employer of the withholding order shall contain only such information as may be necessary for the employer to comply with the withholding order.

### (d) No attachment of student assistance

Except as authorized in this section, notwithstanding any other provision of Federal or State law, no grant, loan, or work assistance awarded under this subchapter and part C of subchapter I of chapter 34 of title 42, or property traceable to such assistance, shall be subject to garnishment or attachment in order to satisfy any debt owed by the student awarded such assistance, other than a debt owed to the Secretary and arising under this subchapter and part C of subchapter I of chapter 34 of title 42.

### (e) "Disposable pay" defined

For the purpose of this section, the term "disposable pay" means that part of the compensation of any individual from an employer remaining after the deduction of any amounts required by law to be withheld.

(Pub. L. 89–329, title IV, §488A, as added Pub. L. 102–164, title VI, §605(a), Nov. 15, 1991, 105 Stat. 1066; amended Pub. L. 105–244, title IV, §490A, Oct. 7, 1998, 112 Stat. 1753; Pub. L. 109–171, title VIII, §8024, Feb. 8,2006, 120 Stat. 180.)



### UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

830 First Street, NE Union Center Plaza Washington, D.C. 20202

The following organizations have agreements with the U.S. Department of Education to participate in the Federal Family Education Loan (FFEL) Program as guaranty agencies under Section 428(b) of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA). The guaranty agencies on this list are authorized by section 488A of the HEA, to issue administrative wage garnishment withholding orders at a rate of 15% to employers, to recover FFEL debts owed by individuals who have defaulted on their student loan repayment obligations. This authority does not apply to Federal agencies or their employees.

Ascendium Education Solutions, Inc.
College Assist
Educational Credit Management Corporation
Florida Office of Student Financial Assistance
Illinois Student Assistance Commission
Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority
Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance
Michigan Guaranty Agency
Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development
National Student Loan Program
New Hampshire Higher Education Assistance Foundation
New Mexico Student Loan Guarantee Corporation
New York State Higher Education Services Corporation
North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority
Oklahoma Guaranteed Student Loan Program

Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency Trellis Company

Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority Vermont Student Assistance Corporation

American Student Assistance

# **Employer Withholding Instructions**

Before the Order of Withholdings from Earnings was sent to you, the debtor was sent several notices, including a Notice Prior to Wage Withholding. As required under Federal law (20 USC 1095a.), the Notice Prior to Wage Withholding explained the MDHEWD's intent to send the Order to you and gave the debtor an opportunity to (a) inspect and copy the MDHEWD's records regarding the debt; (b) have a hearing concerning the existence or the amount of the debt and, except in certain instances, the terms of the repayment schedule; and (c) avoid withholding by entering into a voluntary repayment agreement.

In general, you will have received the Order because either (a) the debtor did not request such a hearing within the time required under the law or (b) a hearing was held and the Hearing Officer determined that the debtor did not have sufficient grounds to prevent garnishment. In some cases, the hearing may have resulted in a modification of the garnishment, in which case the Order sets forth a specific amount or percent to be withheld and whatever other conditions or limitations may apply.

### Steps you must take:

- 1. Check the debtor's name, address, and social security number contained in the Order against your records and complete and return the Employer Acknowledgment of Wage Withholding form (Attachment A) immediately. Your liability for withholding begins when you receive the Order, not when you submit the Acknowledgement.
  - a. If, when you receive the Order, you no longer are obligated to pay the debtor (for example, because the debtor's employment was involuntarily terminated or the debtor left for another job) promptly complete and submit the Acknowledgement.
  - b. If your obligation to pay the debtor ends after you have received the Order, promptly notify the MDHEWD in writing and provide the basis for issuing you a Release of Order of Withholding (Attachment B). Please see the section entitled Notice of Change of Employment on the Employer Instructions for Complying with the Order of Withholding document for instructions on providing this written notification to MDHEWD. Remember that income earned up to the termination date and any other compensation, such as severance pay, are subject to withholding.
- 2. Calculate and deduct the amount to be withheld for each pay period, beginning with the first pay period that occurs after you received the Order, using the AWG WITHHOLDING WORKSHEET (Attachment C). NOTE: if the Order specifies the amount to be withheld, or if a Modification of Order has been issued, you do not need to use ATTACHMENT C.
- 3. Submit the amount withheld, payable to ECMC GA Servicing Payments, LOCKBOX GA 729, PO Box 16478, St. Paul, MN 55116-0478. Be sure each check includes (a) debtor name and Social Security number; (b) employer name; and (c) notation indicating that it is a wage withholding payment. If you are making payments for two or more debtors, you may combine payments as long as the check stub or transmittal sheet properly identifies the amount remitted for each employee.
- 4. Repeat steps 2 and 3 for each pay period until (a) the MDHEWD provides you with a Release; or (b) your obligation to pay the debtor ends. Although deductions are to be made at each pay period, remittance need only be made once each month. You are not required to change normal pay and disbursement cycles to comply with the Order.

# **Multiple Withholdings\*:**

### **Limitations:**

If the debtor is subject to multiple garnishments during a pay period, Federal law (see 15 USC Section1673 and F.A.Q. #1) may limit your ability to withhold, for that pay period, the full amount called for under the Order. If so, you must inform us, in writing, immediately.

### **Priorities:**

Generally, garnishments must be satisfied in the order in which they are issued to the employer, up to the maximum amount subject to that kind of garnishment order.

- Be sure to check the effective duration of any state law garnishments. Many of them remain in effect only for a limited time; when they lapse, the next-in-line garnishment would take over.
- Federal student loan garnishments (such as the Order) do not have duration limitations; they do not end until (a) the debt is paid in full (NOTE: the total amount the debtor owes is more than the amount indicated in the Order under "Total Amount Currently Due" because, among other things, interest continues to accrue); (b) your obligation to pay the debtor otherwise has ended; (c) a bankruptcy stay suspends the garnishment; or (d) the debt is discharged or otherwise resolved.
- Garnishments for child support or IRS levy take precedence over withholding for student loan debts, regardless of when they begin. If you receive a garnishment order for child support or IRS levy after you have received our AWG Order, contact us at 1 800-473-6757, option 3, or 573-751-3940.
- \* This information reflects the MDHEWD's understanding concerning the general aspects of multiple withholding under AWG but is not intended as legal advice.

# Your compliance is mandatory:

Federal law [20 USC 1095a(a)(6)] makes you liable for any amount that you should, but do not, withhold following receipt of the Order. The MDHEWD may sue you in State or Federal court to recover those sums, together with attorney's fees, costs and, in the court's discretion, punitive damages. Under that same law [(20 USC 1095a(a)(8)], you may not discharge, refuse to employ, or take disciplinary action against an individual just because that individual is subject to AWG. That individual may sue you if you take such action and, if he or she prevails, the court will award attorney's fees and, in its discretion, may order, among other things, reinstatement, punitive damages, and back pay.

Termination of the debtor's employment after you receive the Order does not terminate your liability for amounts you were supposed to have withheld.

# **FAQ and Inquiries:**

1. If someone else is already garnishing my employee's disposable pay, do I still have to comply with the AWG Order?

Yes, but the amount you must withhold may be reduced. The law (15 USC 1673) imposes a maximum on how much can be garnished at any one time; currently, that maximum is 25% of the employee's disposable pay. For example, if that current garnishment is taking 20%, the AWG Order (assuming it is next in line) is still operable to the extent of the remaining 5% of the employee's disposable pay. On the other hand, if the prior garnishment(s) account for 25%, then nothing would have to be withheld on the AWG Order, at least until the prior garnishment(s) were satisfied or expired.

Remember: that same Federal law also protects from garnishment a "floor" level of income equal to 30 times the minimum wage per week.

Remember: some garnishments expire (AWG Orders do not) even before the full amount has been paid, and once a prior garnishment expires (or is satisfied) the next- in- line garnishment usually takes over.

2. The AWG Order is not signed, do I have to honor it?

**Yes.** The law (20 USC 1095a) does not require that the Order be signed to be valid and legally binding. However, if you have any question about the Order's authenticity, please contact the AWG Department at 1 800-473-6757, option 3, or 573-751-3940.

3. I am told that my state law forbids wage garnishment, so can't I just ignore the AWG Order?

No. AWG is authorized by a Federal law (20 USC 1095a) which specifically preempts State law.

4. What are the consequences if I fail to comply?

A non-compliant employer will be liable for, and subject to suit by the MDHEWD to recover any amount that the employer fails to withhold after receipt of notice of the AWG Order, plus attorneys' fees, costs, and, in the court's discretion, punitive damages.

5. Can I impose a fee for administering this? If I can, who pays?

**That depends on the state**; some states permit the imposition of a fee or charge on the employee. Federal law does not address the issue. You should check your state's law.

Employers with questions regarding the wage withholding process, please contact the AWG Department at 1 800-473-6757, option 3, or 573-751-3940.

# Attachment A



PID#:

### **EMPLOYER ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF WAGE WITHHOLDING**

| Acknowledges receipt of the Order of Withholdings from Earnings for:   |                         |   |  |  |  |
|--|-------------------------|---|--|--|--|
|  | able Pay) will be forwa | and payment of approximately rded to Missouri Department of Higher (Weekly/Biweekly/Other) basis. |  |  |  |
| The first expected payment will be                                     | (MM/DD/YYYY)            |   |  |  |  |
| [] The above-named debtor is no longed Date of Employment Termination: |                         |   |  |  |  |
| Signature  |                         |   |  |  |  |
| Date   |                         |   |  |  |  |
| Telephone Number   |                         |   |  |  |  |

Complete, sign, and return this form WITHIN 10 BUSINESS DAYS TO:
Missouri Department of Higher Education & Workforce Development
Wage Garnishment Department
PO Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469

Phone: 1-800-473-6757, option 3

**Fax:** 573-526-0685

# Attachment B



MDHEWD Wage Garnishment Department

1-800-473-6757, option 3

PID#: **ATTN: PAYROLL DEPARTMENT** IN RE: STUDENT LOAN DEBT OF **RELEASE OF ORDER OF WITHHOLDING FROM EARNINGS** The Order of Withholding from Earnings issued by the MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION & WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT (MDHEWD) for the debtor below is hereby CANCELLED AND RELEASED. **Debtor:** Address: SSN#: FROM AND AFTER THE DATE OF THIS RELEASE, THE EMPLOYER IS NO LONGER REQUIRED TO WITHHOLD INCOME FROM THE DEBTOR'S PAY. THIS RELEASE OF ORDER OF WITHHOLDING FROM EARNINGS IS ISSUED ON \_\_\_\_\_\_.

# Attachment C



# **AWG Withholding Worksheet**

| SOO AVAIC | Mithhalding                 | Markchaat    | <b>Instructions</b> |
|-----------|-----------------------------|--------------|---------------------|
| See Awg   | · vvitninoiain <sub>e</sub> | i vvorksneet | mstructions         |

|     | For the pay period ending _  |        |   |
|-----|--|--------|---|
|     | (Type)   | (Date) |   |
| 1.  | Enter employee's disposable pay  | 1. \$  |   |
| 2.  | Multiply the amount in Line 1 by 15% (.15)                                 | 2      |   |
| 3.  | Multiply the amount in Line 1 by 25% (.25)                                 | 3      |   |
| 4.  | Enter the applicable Federal minimum hourly wage                           | 4      |   |
| 5.  | Multiply the amount in Line 4 by 30 for each work week in the pay period   | 5      |   |
| 6.  | Subtract Line 5 from Line 1.   | 6      | * |
| 7.  | Enter the sum of all other garnishments being withheld from disposable pay | 7      |   |
| 8.  | Subtract Line 7 from Line 3.   | 8      | k |
| 9.  | Subtract Line 7 from Line 6  | 9      |   |
| 10. | Enter the lesser of Lines 2, 8 or 9  | 10     |   |

Remit the amount entered on Line 10. (Make checks payable to the MDHEWD.)

\*If this amount is zero or less, no remittance is required for this pay period.

# **AWG Withholding Worksheet Instructions**

Use the AWG Withholding Worksheet to calculate the amount of withholding for each pay period. At the top of each sheet, identify the **type of pay period** (e.g., weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, etc.) and the **end date of that period** in the spaces indicated.

- LINE 1. Disposable pay is determined by (a) calculating the total compensation paid or payable for the employee's services (e.g., wages, salary, commissions, bonus, severance pay, etc.); and (b) subtracting from that amount the sum of all amounts required by law to be withheld from that compensation, such as state (if any) and Federal income tax, health insurance premiums and Federal FICA or OASI tax (social security). You should not subtract amounts withheld for savings bonds or employee contributions to retirement plans. Also, do not subtract garnishments; these are considered in LINE 7.
- LINE 2. Under 20 USC 1095a(a)(1), the amount deducted for any pay period may not exceed 15% of disposable pay unless the individual consents, in writing, to a greater percentage.
- **LINE 3.** The Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 USC 1671) provides that, except in certain limited circumstances, the maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any workweek which is subject to garnishment may not exceed 25%.
- **LINE 4.** Be sure to enter the correct Federal minimum hourly wage. As of July 2009, the Federal minimum wage is \$7.25 per hour.
- LINE 5. The Consumer Credit Protection Act excludes from garnishment a "floor" level of disposable pay per workweek in an amount equal to 30 times the Federal minimum hourly wage.

  Assuming a minimum wage of \$7.25 per hour (as of July 2009) LINE E is, for example, \$217.50, if the employee is paid weekly; \$435.00 if the employee is paid every other week; \$471.25 if the employee is paid twice per month; and \$942.50 if the employee is paid monthly.
- LINE 7. If the employee is subject to multiple garnishments during a pay period, Federal law may limit your ability to withhold, for that pay period, the full amount called for under the Order. For further information, please refer to the section in your Handbook on Multiple Withholding.
- LINE 10. Of the amounts calculated in LINES 2, 8 and 9, insert here whichever amount is lowest.
- **LINE 11.** You may round off the figure to a flat dollar amount, so long as the resulting figure does not exceed LINE 9.