Home » News » News Item

September 20, 2018

Grant, Nodler, and Thomson receive Senate confirmation for Coordinating Board for Higher Education

Two new appointments and one reappointment to the Coordinating Board for Higher Education (CBHE) were confirmed by the Senate for six-year terms.

Gwendolyn Grant, Kansas City, and Gary Nodler, Neosho, were appointed to the CBHE in August by Governor Mike Parson and were confirmed in the Senate during the legislature’s Veto Session in September. Mike Thomson, Maryville, was first appointed to the CBHE in April 2016, by Governor Jay Nixon. Thomson was reappointed by Governor Parson in July 2018, and confirmed by the Senate in September.

Nodler served in the Missouri Senate from 2003 to 2011. During that time, he served as Assistant Majority Floor Leader and on several committees, including as chairman of the appropriations and education committees.

“This is an extremely important assignment. There are a lot of challenges facing higher education in Missouri,” Nodler said. “Higher education has tremendous challenges and that tells me there are tremendous opportunities. I look forward to participating in finding solutions.”

Together, Grant and Nodler bring a wealth of experience in education policy, advocacy, leadership, and service that will benefit the board, higher education, and Missouri.

Grant is president and CEO of the Urban League of Greater Kansas City and is the co-founder of the League’s Servant Leadership Development Program.

“I think there’s nothing more important that I can be doing right now at this time in my career than to support and serve on the Coordinating Board so that I can play a meaningful role in helping to shape the future of higher education in the state,” Grant said.

The CBHE oversees the Department of Higher Education, which serves as the administrative arm of the board and is led by the commissioner of higher education. The CBHE members – one from each of Missouri’s eight congressional districts and one selected at large – are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate.