Home » News » News Item

December 14, 2021

Coordinating Board for Higher Education names new officers

Commissioner’s Advisory Group members named


The Coordinating Board for Higher Education selected new officers for 2022 during its Dec. 8 meeting.

Gwen Grant, Gary Nodler, and Dudley McCarter were selected to serve as officers in 2022. Grant will serve as chair, Nodler as vice chair, and McCarter as secretary. Coordinating board officers are selected by the board annually and serve a one-year term.

President and CEO of the Urban League of Greater Kansas City, and co-founder of the League’s Servant Leadership Development Program, Grant was appointed to serve on the coordinating board in August 2018. She served as the board’s secretary in 2021.

Grant will succeed Joe Cornelison, Maryville, who served as chair for the last year.

"I am honored to serve as chair of the Coordinating Board for Higher Education & Workforce Development. It has been my pleasure to serve alongside Joe Cornelison and all our knowledgeable and committed board members. I look forward to working with the board, Commissioner Mulligan, and our highly talented staff to advance our mission and execute our strategic plan," Grant said.

The board will appoint committee chairs prior to its next regular meeting in March 2022.

Also during last week’s meeting, Commissioner Zora Mulligan named new members to her Commissioner’s Advisory Group. The Commissioner’s Advisory Group provides advice and develops relationships among the commissioner and public college and university CEOs. The group meets on a quarterly basis and includes representatives from community colleges, Council on Public Higher Education (COPHE) members, and the University of Missouri System.

Members for 2022 include: from COPHE, Roger Best, Elizabeth Kennedy, Sue Thomas, Dean Van Galen, Carlos Vargas, Paul Wagner, the Harris-Stowe or Lincoln University president pending permanent appointment; from the Missouri Community College Association, Jon Bauer, Joe Gilgour, Hal Higdon, Barbara Kavalier, Dena McCaffrey, Jeff Pittman, and Brian Millner; and Kristin Sobolik from the University of Missouri.

Find more information about the coordinating board, including the Dec. 8 board book at https://dhewd.mo.gov/cbhe/.


About the Missouri Department of Higher Education & Workforce Development: The department works to empower Missourians with the skills and education needed for success. More information about MDHEWD can be found at https://dhewd.mo.gov or on Facebook and Twitter @MoDHEWD.