Section 173.091 of the Missouri statutes states the following:

"Any Missouri resident who is at least 65 years of age on or before August 1 of a school year and who possesses the qualifications set forth in this section shall be awarded a scholarship to a state educational institution, as the term is defined in section 176.010, of the person's choice.  Such scholarship shall consist of an exemption from tuition at the institution attended." 

Section 176.010 identifies all public institutions, including community colleges and State Tech.


The section includes several additional terms and conditions, including that the coursework is considered “non-credit" and that "each state educational institution shall determine the number of students who may receive the tuition benefit based on available class space after tuition-paying students have enrolled."